About Me

For those of you who follow me or randomly stop by my blog, I figured it would be a good idea to let you know a little bit more about me.  The whole idea of blogging regularly is still relatively new to me.  I originally started this for my Intro to Women's Studies class my junior year of college.  I left those posts so readers can get an idea of my political and social ideals (they have been tweaked some from then), if they're curious that is.

I am a small-town Oklahoma girl who is trying to make it in what could be considered a suburb of Oklahoma City.  I have lived in Oklahoma my entire life, eastern Oklahoma until 2008 to be more precise.  I moved around a lot until middle school.  I even lived in a little town named Lequire my first year on this planet.  I switched schools a few times, went to Hugo, Hartshorne and Haileyville before we settled in Fort Gibson.  I never really liked it there and neither did my brother Stephen.

After I graduated high school, I attended Northeastern State University in Tahlequah on scholarship.  I was a member of the Honors Program, and, before I transferred, was secretary of the organization.  I was very active at NSU.  I was a member of the Psychology Club, Northeastern Activity Board, and moved up to board member status in the Northeastern Student Government Association.  I was also a Resident Assistant (RA) my sophomore year.  I was an active TKE (Tau Kappa Epsilon) girl and spent as much time with my boys as I could.  They are some of the best friends I have ever had.

While I was attending NSU I met my ex boyfriend, Matt.  For the first year that we knew each other we hung out a lot, partied together, and were more or less just friends with benefits.  After he transferred to the University of Oklahoma in the spring of 2008, we realized how much we cared about each other.  We made it official that summer and were together until September 2011.  We have a red-nose brindle pit bull terrier named Roxi, who now lives with Matt.  She's the most spoiled dog you will ever meet and strange as can be.  I have a half pit, half random bird dog named Tank.  He's dumb as can be but the most loveable little thing I have ever seen.  I recently got a new puppy.  Her name is Cleo and she is a miniature Schnauzer.  She's a little shit but so cute!  But I digress.

In the fall of 2009 I transferred to OU and joined Alpha Gamma Delta.  My first year I was a member of the Transfer Leadership Class, which was basically just a scholarship program to help transfer students adjust and get involved on campus.  I helped to found the organization Students for a Sensible Drug Policy (SSDP), however, not long before it was given officially recognition I became too busy to be very involved.  During my senior year I was a photographer for Sooner Yearbook.  It was an amazing opportunity.

I graduated in December 2010 with a Bachelors of Arts in Multidisciplinary Studies (emphasis in the Development of Women's Social Rights) and a minor in Political Science.  I am currently working at as a Senior Reception Tech at a local business and loving it.

Now that you know my background somewhat, let's get down to the more personal details.

I consider myself a country girl.  I love being outdoors and having plenty of room to run around.  I miss living in the country and near what we called a bayou (it was more like a large creek).  I like to fish, hike, camp, go shooting, ride horses, and walk through the woods at our family cabin.  I love animals.  My list of pets have included turtles, rabbits, cats, a fawn, dogs, chickens, a hamster, and fancy rats.

Here's what I love to do:
  • Writing--I love to write.  Poetry is what I usually write, but I have been known to do a few short stories here and there.  I currently have a novel that I have started, well barely started.  When I was in high school, I attended the Oklahoma Summer Arts Institute to study poetry.  I've recently hit a writers' block and am trying to find a new muse, if not a completely new style.
  • Photography--I consider myself an amateur photographer.  I worked as a photography intern for Sooner Yearbook at OU.  My portfolio isn't very strong at the moment but that is mostly due to my lack of a decent SLR.  If you would like to donate to that fund or donate a camera both are welcome, haha.
  • Reading--I will read anything I can get my hands on.  I've always enjoyed the classics, As I Lay Dying by Faulkner, 1984by George Orwell, and Heart of Darkness being a few of my all-time favorites.  My guilty pleasures, however, are supernatural and supernatural romances.  I'm particularly fond of vampire stories.
  • Dancing--I enjoy to go out dancing as often as possible.  I used to go every weekend, but that changed when I moved to Norman.  I still go out, but I have more important things to do now.  I've taken a Western Ballroom class and a Belly Dancing class.  I hope to become better in both areas.  I plan to take a Zumba class once I have the money saved or at least get the workout game for the Kinect.
  • Singing--I used to be in choir, performed in my school musicals, and was part of my church praise team.  Since high school, I've done mostly what I like to call car karaoke.  I do enjoy the occasional Rock Band concert and the rare drunken bar karaoke.  I used to have a very wide vocal range, first soprano down to baritone.  It was nice.
  • Working out--I don't do this near as often as I should, but I when I do I enjoy it.  My favorite way to work out is to dance or go on long walks.  Oddly enough, I love ab work outs.  I love the burn I have the next day when I push myself.
  • Sushi--This is by far my favorite thing to eat.  After burritos, it is the most versatile types of food.  We make sushi at home when we're feeling DIY-ish.  My favorite random concoction we've created is the steak, avocado, cream cheese, and chives roll we made.  It was original and tasty.
  • Travel--I want to see the world.  I haven't been very many places in my life so far, but I hope to change that soon.  I plan to visit New Zealand in the next year or so and can't wait.  I really want to go to Ireland, France, and Amsterdam. 
I'm somewhat of a complex person.  My family is my life, that includes my dogs and those friends that I truly feel should have been family.   They are what gives me the drive to be passionate about the things I feel strongly about and enjoy.

I think that about does it for an About Me section.  These are the things that make me tick and keep me going when times get rough.  I'm passionate, complex, and goofy.  I love my life and all those in it.

No comments: